Stitching / Stumpwork to start soon

P1020212P1020214

As a great procrastinator, I have spent the last several months finding, organizing and creating storage areas for my stumpwork projects. Silk threads, silk fabrics, beads, odds, ends and notions now have their place in my plastic drawers.

I have a small trinket box from Tricia Wilson Nguyen’s Cabinet of Curiousities class that I learned to make a base cover with laid paper and then cover with coral silk, ready to have the embroidered top layer.  Think that will be a practice piece with a 17th c. castle on top, small animals and flowers on the sides and back panels to represent 17th century England.

Also found a small stylized wooden mirror surround, about 5″ x 7″ that will have a nautical motif, likely with upright seahorses on either side panel, a grotto with mermaid on the bottom and perhaps a ship, fully rigged on the top panel, with various sea creatures “floating” around.

I am a master creator in my mind, to get these things down on fabric is another story.  But, oh, how I love to design/create.  Keeps me up for hours at night, just seeing it all in my mind.

I have designed and drawn the large mirror surround I plan to do and was going to jump into that first as I am wont to do, but think caution is the right thing, and I will first work these smaller wooden pieces.

While searching through my stash of goodies, I found a packet of four wooden “Split Wren Eggs” that I bought at the craft store, Michaels, years ago with no particular use in mind.  They have stayed in my mind for all these years because I believe they are the right size to use for the base of a human head on the casket or mirror surround.  I couldn’t find them all this time, but am pleased to say I did find the packet.  Once I knew the proper name, I was able to Google it as the company that carried them no longer seems to be in business and Michaels definitely doesn’t have them.  Now that I found them online, I ordered them and should have a good size lot within the week.  They measure 7/8″ long and are under 1/2″ in depth.  Now the problem is, will I be able to carve a little, tiny piece of wood for a nose without cutting my fingers.  I am not very accurate with a carving knife, but will try it.

Next, I will need “Sleeven Silk” which is what was used to cover the wooden forms before decorating.  I think acrylic paint or oil paint might be useful for this, but I will try that out.  Not sure if Sleeven Silk is even made today but will try with what I have available.  This is indeed a question for Tricia Nguyen.  Included are some drawings for my large mirror surround.

P1020211

Leave a Reply

